Award Winners

  There are many books published every year, and the list of young adult books seems to be growing.  Lists of award winners can help you decide what might be a good book to pick up, particularly for a school project, or maybe just for fun. Check out the links below for lists of award-winning books.

Tulsa Awards & Honors:

No More Dead Dogs

Zarrow Award for Young Readers' Literature – This award is given annually by the Tulsa Library Trust. Its purpose is to give formal recognition, on behalf of the Tulsa County community, to nationally acclaimed authors who have made a significant contribution to the field of literature for children and young adults. The 2016 award recipient is Gordon Korman, who will give a public presentation in May 2016.  







Oklahoma Awards & Honors:


Intermediate Sequoyah Book Award - The Sequoyah Book Awards program encourages the students of Oklahoma to read books of literary quality. It is one of the oldest "student choice" book awards in the nation. Students in grades 6 - 8 who have read or listened to at least three titles from the Intermediate Masterlist are eligible to vote for the Intermediate Sequoyah Book Award. Winners are announced in April. The 2015 winner is Jennifer A. Nielsen for The False Prince. 


High School Sequoyah Book Award - Students in grades 9 - 12 who have read or listened to at least three titles from the High School Masterlist are eligible to vote for the High School Sequoyah Book Award.  The 2015 winner is John Green for The Fault in our Stars 

Oklahoma Book Award, Young Adult - This annual award is presented by the Oklahoma Center for the Book to the best novel of the previous year written by an Oklahoma author or containing an Oklahoma based-theme. The 2015 winner is Roy Deering for Finders Keepers. List of past winners. 

















National Book Awards & Honors:

Margaret A. Edwards Award – This award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature. The annual award is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association and sponsored by School Library Journal magazine. The 2016 winner is David Levithan, author of Boy Meets Boy.

Michael L. Printz Award - This is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. The award is presented by YALSA and sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.  The 2016 winner is Laura Ruby for Bone Gap.

  KatianDan  The

Odyssey Award - This award is given annually by the American Library Association to the producer of the best audiobook for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. The 2016 winner is The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley,  narrated by Jayne Entwistle. 

National Book Award for Young People's Literature   The National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation. The 2015 winner is Neal Shusterman for Challenger Deep

Nonfiction for Young Adults Award - The YALSA Award for excellence in nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults, ages 12-18, during a publishing year. The 2016 winner is Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War written by Steve Sheinken. 

William C. Morris Award - This award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens. It celebrated impressive new voices in young adult literature. This award is presented by YALSA. The 2016 winner is Becky Albertalli for Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda 
Stonewall Book Awards - These awards are given annually to English-language books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience. The 2015 children's/young adult winner is This Day in June, by Gayle E. Pitman .  Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe,” written by Benjamin Alire Sáenz Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe,” written by Benjamin Alire Sáenz  




































Other Lists & Awards from the Young Adult Library Services Association: